Teachers in COVID-19 hotspots to obtain priority vaccine

Image: Shutterstock; Juliya Shangarey

The NSW Government is moving teachers, aged care workers, and staff of schools within the Local Government Areas of Bankstown, Fairfield, and Liverpool to the front of the vaccine queue from Friday. As clusters in Sydney’s southwest and southeast continue to grow, around 9650 teachers in these areas will be eligible to receive a priority vaccine.

As term three begins with a return to home learning, a decision on whether schools will re-open for students on July 19 will be announced in the coming days. Teachers union groups including NSW Teachers Federation are calling for all teaching staff in the state to be prioritised in the rollout, citing concerns that a return to face-to-face learning could see the transmission of the Delta variant in the classroom.

(Visited 6 times, 1 visits today)
Download Audio

The Wire is produced in partnership by

Contributor Stations

Supporters and Program Distribution