"Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Australian flags outside the Australian Parliament House" by Nick D, 3 July 2016, Creative Commons

With a dramatic revamp of his Indigenous Advisory Council, the Prime Minister is aiming to create a “genuine partnership” between the Turnbull government and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australia.

With Warren Mundine dismissed as the chair, there will be no replacement chair, for the purpose of taking a more consultative approach.

A diverse range of Indigenous Australian leaders in their different fields will make up the four new council members, including Andrea Mason, CEO of the Ngaanyatjarra, Pitjantjatjara and Yankunytjatjara Women’s Council, Chris Sarra, Indigenous education leader and Chair of the Stronger Smarter Institute, Djambawa Marawili,  traditional owner from Baniyala – and Roy Ah See, Chair of the New South Wales Aboriginal Land Council.


Download Audio

The Wire is produced in partnership by

Contributor Stations

Supporters and Program Distribution